“Somebody Help Me”

It was a Sunday night. I had gotten together with a few friends. We were out on the porch – talking, laughing and sharing stories of our day-to-day lives.

It was a good night. I had a good time.

But, that “good feeling” quickly left my body minutes after my friends leaving, when I heard the loud, piercing screams of a lady, yelling, “SOMEBODY HELP ME! HELP! HE’S…”, over and over again.

Feelings of fear, anxiety and panic ran through my body – outside and within. I was scared and frightened; so petrified, I nearly froze – but I couldn’t. Something was wrong; terribly wrong. I mean, I know I can be paranoid, but these screams were the sound of someone fighting for their safety and life.

Shaking from head to toe, I dialled the number for the police. I had my phone in my hand, ready to press “call”, as I tried to figure out where exactly the screams were coming from.

They were coming from across the water, and I had no way of intervening. I called the police to let them know and have them check out the area.

I don’t know who you are, but I hear you. I don’t know where you are, but I hear you. I hear your screams, your pleas and your cries for help. I don’t see you, but I hear you. I’m across the water; you’re on the other side – somewhere over there, but I don’t know where.

Then, suddenly, the screams faded and stopped, and all I heard was silence.

What the fuck just happened?

Disturbing images went through my mind. Disturbing flashbacks and memories of my own trauma went through my mind.

I’m still shaking.

I know I did what I could, but I wish I could have done more.

I can still hear your screams in my head. It’s all I can hear and I can’t sleep. When I sleep, in my dreams, you appear.

I pray to God that you are – or will be – okay. I pray to God that you’re safe.

Leave a Reply

