“I am” Poem

I am anxious and depressed, angry and sad, broken and stressed
I wonder when these feelings will go away, or are they here to stay?
I hear voices in my head; don’t know which one to listen to
I see images in my head that I don’t want to imagine
I want to do things that I shouldn’t do
I am anxious and depressed, angry and sad, broken and stressed

I pretend that I am calm, but my mind is screaming
I feel so much pain, anger and fear
I touch – no – I pinch myself to know whether or not this is real
I worry too much and it drives me crazy
I cry because it hurts so much
I am anxious and depressed, angry and sad, broken and stressed

I understand that it takes time to heal, but how long?
I say you can make the future, but it starts with leaving the past
I dream one day I will be free
I try so hard, but these demons follow me everywhere I go
I hope one day they will leave me alone
I am anxious and depressed, angry and sad, broken and stressed

Leave a Reply

